A little perspective. A better choice.About our affiliate links

The side-by-side

48-Inch Wide, 18-Inch Deep Garage Shelving Compared

The same questions. Side-by-side answers. Follow the sources and find what matters to you.

The comparison, at a glance.

Start with the differences. Keep the gaps in view.

11 of 25 rows are marked different

See all 11 differences below ↓

A missing detail is a gap in the information, not a product disadvantage.

Before you decide19 rows have missing details0 rows have conflicting sources

Specifications

6 products

DifferentFollow a verification label to its source.

Not listed: unavailable detail. Sources disagree: conflicting published information. Scroll sideways for more products.

Specifications
The detailsRead across. Look closer.Gladiator 48" Wide Heavy Duty Rack with Four 18" Deep ShelvesSeville Classics UltraDurable 5-Tier NSF-Certified Steel ShelvingTRINITY TRINITY EcoStorage 5-Tier | 48x18x72 | Commercial Wire Shelving | NSF | ChromeTRINITY TRINITY PRO 5-Tier | 48x18x72 | Industrial Wire Shelving | NSF | w/ Wheels | Black AnthraciteWhalen 72in Black Wire 4-Shelf Storage UnitWhalen 48in 5 Tier Black Step Beam Storage Rack
Overall width (assembled)48 in (122 cm) Verified48 in (122 cm) Verified48 in (122 cm) Verified48 in (122 cm) Verified48 in (122 cm) Verified48 in (122 cm) Verified
Overall depth (assembled)18 in (45.7 cm) Verified18 in (45.7 cm) Verified18 in (45.7 cm) Verified18 in (45.7 cm) Verified18 in (45.7 cm) Verified18 in (45.7 cm) Verified
Overall height (assembled)Differs72 in (183 cm) Verified75 in (191 cm) (With casters fitted. The manufacturer gives 72 in on leveling feet.) Verified72 in (183 cm) Verified77 in (196 cm) (On wheels. The manufacturer gives 72 in on feet levelers.) Verified72 in (183 cm) Verified72 in (183 cm) Verified
Shelf widthNot listedNot listed48 in (122 cm) Verified48 in (122 cm) VerifiedNot listedNot listed
Shelf depth18 in (45.7 cm) VerifiedNot listed18 in (45.7 cm) Verified18 in (45.7 cm) VerifiedNot listedNot listed
Number of shelvesDiffers4 Verified5 Verified5 Verified5 Verified4 Verified5 Verified
Load rating per shelfDiffers2,000 lb (907 kg) (not stated by the manufacturer) Verified800 lb (363 kg) (on leveling feet; the page gives no per-shelf rating on wheels) Verified800 lb (363 kg) (evenly distributed) Verified1,000 lb (454 kg) (evenly distributed, on feet levelers; the same table lists 200 lb (evenly distributed) per shelf on casters) Verified200 lb (90.7 kg) (evenly distributed) Verified1,000 lb (454 kg) (EVENLY DISTRIBUTED) Verified
Total unit load ratingDiffers8,000 lb (3,629 kg) (not stated by the manufacturer) Verified4,000 lb (1,814 kg) (on leveling feet; the same page states: 500 lb. total weight capacity for entire shelving unit on wheels) Verified4,000 lb (1,814 kg) (evenly distributed) Verified5,000 lb (2,268 kg) (evenly distributed, on feet levelers; the same table lists 1000 lb (on Casters)) VerifiedNot listed5,000 lb (2,268 kg) (EVENLY DISTIRBUTED) Verified
Frame materialSteel VerifiedSteel VerifiedNot listedSteel VerifiedSteel VerifiedSteel Verified
Shelf materialDiffersNot listedWire VerifiedWire VerifiedWire VerifiedWire VerifiedOther Verified
FinishDiffersNot listedOther VerifiedOther VerifiedPowder coat VerifiedOther VerifiedPowder coat Verified
Corrosion resistance claimDiffersNot listedNot listedThe sleek, easy-to-clean finish resists rust and corrosion, making it ideal for a variety of indoor spaces. VerifiedWeather Resistant: Approved for Indoor/Outdoor Use Verifieddurable black epoxy finish that resists rust, chips, and corrosion VerifiedBlack wrinkle powder coated to resist rust and scratch damage Verified
Adjustable shelf positionsNot listedYes VerifiedYes VerifiedYes VerifiedYes VerifiedYes Verified
Shelf adjustment incrementNot listed1 in (2.5 cm) Verified1 in (2.5 cm) Verified1 in (2.5 cm) Verified1 in (2.5 cm) VerifiedNot listed
CastersNot listedIncluded locking VerifiedNot listedIncluded locking VerifiedNot listedNot listed
MountingNot listedNot listedNot listedNot listedNot listedNot listed
Wall anchoring requiredNot listedNot listedNot listedNot listedYes VerifiedNot listed
Anchor kit includedNot listedNot listedNot listedNot listedYes VerifiedNot listed
Compatible accessoriesExtra shelves, Other VerifiedExtra shelves, Other VerifiedNot listedNot listedNot listedNot listed
Warranty lengthDiffersNot listed10 years Verified1 year Verified1 year VerifiedNot listedNot listed
Warranty termsDiffersLifetime limited warranty VerifiedLimited 10-year warranty Verified1 YEAR LIMITED WARRANTY Verified1 YEAR LIMITED WARRANTY VerifiedNot listedLIMITED LIFETIME WARRANTY Verified
Replacement parts availableNot listedNot listedYes VerifiedYes VerifiedYes VerifiedYes Verified
Installation limitationsDiffersNot listedNot listedThis product is for indoor use only. VerifiedNot listedAssemble the unit on a sturdy and level surface. Avoid assembling on carpet. VerifiedStorage Rack is not recommended for outdoor use. Verified
Assembly requiredYes VerifiedYes VerifiedNot listedNot listedYes VerifiedYes Verified
Tools required for assemblyDiffersNo VerifiedNo VerifiedNo VerifiedNo VerifiedYes VerifiedYes Verified

The details matter. So do their sources.How to read our research ↗

An 18 inch deep unit takes less floor space than a 24 inch deep one, which matters next to a parked car. This page compares six units whose manufacturers list a 48 inch assembled width and an 18 inch assembled depth.

How to read this table

Every value comes from the manufacturer’s own documents. Follow the source link beside a value to see the exact words. “Not listed” means the manufacturer does not state it, not that the answer is zero. Load ratings are shown with the conditions the manufacturer attaches to them, and per-shelf and total ratings are never compared with each other.

We have not tested these units and this page does not rank them. It puts the stated specifications side by side so you can check them against your space and what you plan to store. Not sure what fits? Try the Garage Shelving Fit Finder.

Take a closer look.

Visit a merchant for current pricing and availability. Check the country label before you go.

No merchant links are listed yet.